North American Riverprize

Previous North America Riverprize award winners

Niagara River – 2015

2015 – Niagra River

Thank you! Your subscription has been confirmed. You'll hear from us soon.
Join our Newsletter!
  • 2015 – Niagara River, USA

    Winner: Buffalo Niagara Riverkeeper

    Awarded for the first time in 2015, the North American Riverprize was awarded in partnership with River Network, celebrating excellence in the restoration, protection or management of rivers on the North American continent.

    The Buffalo Niagara Riverkeeper received the award for their 25 years of collaborative restoration works within the Buffalo-Niagara River Watershed. Among their many achievements, Riverkeeper has ensured that the once biologically dead Buffalo River is now on a trajectory to be de-listed as an Area of National Concern by 2019.

    “Even with all the odds against you, there is always a path forward to restoration and recovery.” – Jill Jedlicka, Executive Director and Riverkeeper for Buffalo Niagara Riverkeeper.

    “The community used the opportunity to establish a vision with innovative strategies, trying new infrastructure, and developing novel working relationships. They have gone beyond the local issues to involve Canada and the Great Lakes communities to restore the River. It is a classic example containing all the elements the judges were looking for in the first North American Riverprize winner.” – Chris Garman, Judging Panel Chair.





    Michael has over 30 years’ experience across the resources & industrial industries in Australia, Asia, Africa and the Americas. Prior to being appointed to the joint role of Executive Chair and CEO of Thiess, Michael was the CEO of ASX listed CIMIC Group, responsible for leading Sedgman, UGL, CPB Contractors, Leighton Asia and Thiess. He joined Thiess in 1998, starting as a Project Manager, and has held leadership and operational roles in the mining, construction and services sector, giving him expertise across operations, technical, commercial and strategy.

    Michael is a highly regarded and innovative leader focused on delivering value to clients and inspiring operational excellence by building strong, safe and performance-driven teams. He serves as a Director of the Minerals Council of Australia and the Sustainable Minerals Institute.

    He holds a Bachelor of Engineering Civil from the University of Sydney and a Master of Engineering Science from the University of New South Wales.